Running Forward

Kinky Boots

on August 3, 2013

Time to recap last weekend! 

Friday: I stayed in and relaxed. 

Saturday: Went for an early run, then jumped on the Path to the city. I got some veggies at the market, then met up with some family friends in town for the weekend. I met them near 30 Rock, where there happened to be a big street festival. We browsed through some of the vendors before doing some more exploring. I left them just before 6 pm and continued exploring until 7. I was pretty exhausted from walking /running all day. 

Image

Sunday: Early run and trip to the grocery store. Then I went back into the city to meet up with the same group from Saturday. They bought tickets to Kinky Boots and invited me to come along! They’re so incredibly nice- and they’re practically family to me. I honestly had no idea what to expect, but the play blew me away. I fell in love with the actors and the plot left me feeling so upbeat and happy. Go get tickets! Now!

Image

After the play we went to dinner at Il Gattopardo. I actually did not set my expectations high since it was somewhat close to the theatre district, but it was one of the best meals I’ve had in the city. The atmosphere is definitely upscale and the space is quite cozy. Our table was just next to the sunroom. To start they brought us a delicious bread basket and complimentary arancini (rice balls). Everyone ordered an appetizer except me, so I’ll skip ahead to my entree. I ordered the fish and shellfish stew, which consisted of fish (not sure what type), scallops, clams, mussels, and shrimp in a light tomato broth. This meal was right up my alley! 

ImageImage

Work was pretty crazy this past week, which I love! I definitely thrive in fast-paced environments, especially when I’m planning fun events! My new role is pretty darn awesome if I do say so myself. I’m quite lucky. 🙂

This weekend I’m baking like a crazy person for a tea party tomorrow, so expect some recipes later. 

On another note, I found out that my campaign group from last semester won the national advertising competition that we entered! $500 in my pocket! Yeah, baby!

One response to “Kinky Boots

  1. Congrats Kels!! Sounds like quite the accomplishment 🙂

Leave a Reply

