Running Forward

Tea Time

on August 6, 2013

I said I had recipes coming and I wasn’t lying. On Sunday I helped one of my bosses throw a tea party for her friend’s baby shower, so I prepped on Friday and Saturday. I started with my favorite biscotti recipe on Friday.

Image

I quickly discovered that it’s quite difficult baking in a still somewhat unfamiliar kitchen. Yes, I cook all the time, but I don’t bake as much as I used to when I was still in Georgia. Therefore, I didn’t have all the right pans and my apartment’s oven is a bit….old. Luckily, I improvised and everything still turned out pretty tasty. 

     After running around the rainy city on Saturday I settled into the kitchen for another baking marathon. More serious this time, though. I started with not one, but two cream cheese pound cakes. They turned out a bit browned on the outside, but still tasted delicious. Just take a look at the beautiful bowl of batter. 

Image

And let’s take a moment to admire one of the final products. 

Image

As the pound cakes baked I whipped up some mock Devonshire cream and put together dough for the scones, which were both new ventures for me. The cream was easy and pretty self-explanatory. The scones actually weren’t as difficult as I thought they would be. For some reason they have a pretty beastly reputation, but Alton’s recipe was pretty straightforward. They were a big hit at the shower too!

Image

On Sunday my boss picked me up and I spent the morning doing my favorite thing- prepping in the kitchen! I had a list of tea sandwiches to make and loved every minute of putting them together. Here’s the list: 

– bacon, spinach, tomato, creamy Italian dressing

– ham, apple, brie

– smoked salmon, cream cheese, cucumber

– peanut butter & jelly

– tomato, mozzarella & basil

-apple butter

– chicken salad

We had the following sides as well. The watermelon tomato salad was freaking delicious! I could have eaten the whole bowl easily. 

– watermelon tomato salad (watermelon, tomatoes, feta, basil dressing made with basil, olive oil, sea salt, balsamic vinegar)

– cheese platter

– baked gouda wrapped in pastry dough

– cupcakes (from Carousel– my favorite!)

What a fun day! I’m so lucky to have such an awesome boss who knows how much I love being in the kitchen!

ImageImageImage

On another note, I’ve been getting up at 5:30 am lately to run before work since my workday has been nonstop. Here’s part of the motivation to set my alarm for that ungodly hour. Enjoy!

Image

One response to “Tea Time

  1. Yes. To all of this. Sounds so delishhhhhh

Leave a Reply

