Running Forward

Unplanned

on August 18, 2013

I went into this weekend somehow not making any concrete plans. I know that it’s normal to relax, stay home, and laze around on Saturdays and Sundays, but I tend to fall victim to FOMO (fear of missing out). Luckily, I ended up being pretty productive and meeting up with my UGA guys for Sunday brunch. 

Image

Saturday: 

I started the day with my first trip to Bloomingdale’s. My gosh, I now have yet another reason to marry rich. I had a $10 gift card and ended up scoring a really cute denim jacket for only $34 (it was originally $88). Not bad at all. I then made my way from Soho to the Union Square market. I bought a few things, then noticed that Ted Allen’s demonstration was just getting ready to start. The market held a “how to can” event all day that included demonstrations, recipe hand-outs, and giveaways. It was pretty cool and Ted Allen’s talk was full of some great tips. Makes me wish I had my garden up here in Hoboken. Too bad all the veggies are back home in Georgia. 

ImageImage

I finished my market shopping, then walked all around the city for fun. At one point I ended up in Chelsea Market where it was a free sample fest. I enjoyed delicious pasta, falafel, and more! I was pretty hungry, though, since I didn’t pack anything for a lunch, so I ended up buying a $2.50 taco from the new stand, Los Tacos. I ordered the grilled cactus option because I knew I would regret it if I passed it up. I’m always one for trying “exotic” foods. The taco itself was a good portion, but I wasn’t crazy about the cactus. The texture wasn’t what I wanted inside a taco. Oh well, now I know. 

Image

Lastly, I walked into Trader Joe’s for some hummus and ended up walking out with a watermelon that I lugged the entire mile home. My back and shoulders were killing me, but it was worth it. I felt so freaking accomplished, haha! 

On Sunday I went for a run then did my usual Shoprite trip. My entire week of groceries (including my farmers market veggies) cost only $20! People who say it’s more expensive to cook at home don’t know what the heck they’re talking about. 

I met up with Mike and Jackson again this week for Sunday brunch- this time at Cafe Habana. I’ve been wanting to try this place for a while, so I happy that Mike suggested it. The guys both ordered cubans while I ordered the Juevos a la Mexicana (egg whites scrambled with tomato, onion, & serrano pepper and served with home fries). Great choice if I do say so myself! 

Image

We enjoyed a long walk back to the financial district before parting ways. I ended up walking all the way back to the Christopher Street path station since the weather was nice and I didn’t want to deal with any train transfers. All in all, a great weekend. 

Leave a Reply

