Running Forward

City-filled

on August 25, 2013

This past work week was incredibly fun and busy. Most of my team was on vacation, so I held down the fort by taking on some additional responsibilities. One of those tasks included covering some cool client events, which meant I spent a good chunk of my time in the city this week. Surprisingly, our office in the city is amazingly quiet and peaceful so I actually got a lot done. Anyway, here are some pics from the week. 

ImageImageImage

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

My cousin, Chris, got a group together for dinner on Friday at Dos Caminos. The atmosphere was warm yet modern, but the prices were a bit high for my taste. Luckily, the food was pretty tasty though. I even got a free prickly pear shot for checking into Yelp while we waited at the bar. MMMM…. tasty

 

 

Image

We started with guac for the table, then I ordered the chopped salad for my entree. I always love a good chopped salad. 

Image

Get a load of these beautiful enchiladas. Mole sauce on one side, verde sauce on the other. 

Image

Here’s a shot of the group:

ImageImage

I was supposed to meet up with a friend on Saturday for a picnic in Central Park, but ended up having to cancel last minute. Luckily, it was a beautiful day, so I hung out in the park anyway before heading to the Union Square farmers market. 

Image

 

Before heading into the park, though, I made a quick stop by the Wafels & Dinges truck. I saw a post on twitter about national waffle day and learned that I could get a free waffle by bringing any waffle-inspired art to one of their trucks. I made a sketch of a waffle before I left home and enjoyed my wafel with strawberries. I only ate about a third of it on the spot, the rest is wrapped up in the fridge ready to be retoasted. So delicious!ImageI planned to spend Sunday relaxing in Hoboken since my week was pretty all over the place. I started with a quick run, then made my weekly trip to the grocery store. I’m constantly amazed at how little I have to spend on food each week. Whichever man decides to marry me better be thankful for my solid budgeting skills and cooking ability.

After unloading the groceries and cleaning my room I ventured all the way uptown to check out the Heirloom Tomato Festival on 13th and Hudson. It was pretty small and pricey, but at least I grabbed some delicious samples. Then I enjoyed a long walk home along the Hudson. I covered over 10 miles today! Now I’m ready to tackle the week and get to Labor Day weekend! Image


Leave a comment