Running Forward

A Sappy Post

on September 23, 2013

You know how everyone tells little kids to “follow their dreams”, but as soon as they grow up and get closer to the real world everything seems to change? Advice tends to lean in the direction of doing what’s more logical, sensible, and obtainable. Frankly, it scares me because I’m a true dreamer. I realize more and more each day how lucky I am to have parents that not only raised me in an environment that allowed me to explore my passions, but they still encourage me to never settle. As soon as I made up my mind to only apply for jobs in New York people seemed to rush in with doubts. I got so tired of hearing about how competitive it is, how far it is, and how I would never leave the south. Even some of my best friends tried to shoot down my dream- kind of eye opening. Luckily, my parents continued to encourage me no matter what. After just a month of sitting at home idly (partly a lie- I worked the whole time) I got a job with an awesome network up north. I’m happier than I’ve ever been and can’t imagine my life any other way. I’m truly proud that I’m able to support myself and successfully navigate this crazy (but wonderful!) city. To sum it all up, I wish more people kept the dreamer mindset that only elementary school-aged kids seem to have. The trick is to take action towards your goals instead of just fantasizing. With hard work, luck, and the ability to bounce back from adversity I truly believe anything can be accomplished. 

Leave a Reply

