Running Forward

Apples, Soup, and Purple Hair

on October 14, 2013

Well, it looks like a couple of weeks slipped by without any new posts. Luckily, it’s been a good couple of weeks full of lots of soup. And I mean lots. Last weekend I stayed with the cousins and actually managed to cover 8 miles during my run on Saturday morning. Definitely wasn’t planning on it and definitely didn’t think I could do it. Later that afternoon I went apple picking for the first time at Eastmont Orchards. I loved hanging out with the little cousins and family friends. I’m thankful that I have a home away home if that makes sense. I can’t fly home to Atlanta often, so it’s wonderful to have my extended family up here to compensate. I seriously couldn’t survive without them. Anyway, we picked butt loads of apples then went to my aunt and uncle’s house for a big family dinner. One of the highlights had to be my uncle’s apple dessert. It was like an upside down pie- so delicious! I also baked an apple cake to bring to work on Monday. It turned out to be a huge hit, so I highly recommend the recipe!

ImageImage

I took the train back to home sweet Hoboken on Sunday morning in order to have enough time to finish my errands before meeting my boss for a work dinner in Greenwich Village. We went to Waverly Inn, which was fantastic! Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures since we were there with clients, but the food was perfect. I got the Bronx cocktail, which was tasty but I don’t quite remember what was in it. Then the table (5 of us total) split an order of truffle fries- so crispy. For my appetizer I ordered the special salad made of field greens, hazelnuts, blue cheese, and pears. They served a balsamic reduction on the side as a dressing. All of the ingredients were so fresh and perfectly proportioned. For my entree I ordered the sea scallops, which came served atop roasted cauliflower. The scallops themselves tasted just like lobster! Much to my delight the other women were game for splitting some desserts between the table, so we ordered the doubled crusted apple pie (with frozen Greek yogurt and honeycomb) and the flourless chocolate cake (served with vanilla ice cream, graham crackers, and toasted marshmallows). The apple pie was the winner in my book. I’m so lucky to have such a wonderful boss who truly cares about me. Just makes me love my job even more. 

 

Leave a Reply

