Running Forward

Veggie Stew

on November 10, 2013

I’m back! And with a bit of a recipe too! I’ve been quite busy moving (new apartment in Hoboken), working, and making my way around NYC. I finally feel settled into my new apartment and was in the mood to cook a big pot of stew for the week. Soups and stews are so tasty and comforting, but not difficult to throw together. Here’s what I did:

Vegetable Stew

Half yellow onion

1 Sweet potato

1 peeled eggplant

1 zucchini

1.5 bell peppers

1/4 cup lentils

Large can of San Marzano crushed tomatoes

Normal can of chicken stock

salt, Italian spices, cumin

     Start by cooking the lentils, but remove them from the heat just before they become al dente. The stew simmers for quite a while, so don’t worry because the lentils will have plenty of time to finish cooking. In a large pot saute your veggies in the following order; onion, sweet potato, eggplant, zucchini, bell pepper. I just chop and add as I go. After everything is in the pot and browning away I added a good pinch of salt, Italian seasoning (I just used a blend that I have on hand), and a small sprinkle of cumin. Once the veggies are good and brown (and there are brown bits on the bottom of the pan) add your tomatoes, chicken broth, and lentils. Of course, add more seasoning if you need it too. Now here’s the hard part. You have to let it simmer for at least 45 minutes. The longer it simmers the more the flavors meld together and everything cooks down to really become a stew. So freaking good!

Veggie Stew

In other news, it’s supposed to snow here on Tuesday. Luckily, my puffy coat, snow boots, and stew are ready to go.

Leave a Reply

