Running Forward

on November 14, 2013

A few weeks ago back in October I had the opportunity to host a client dinner for 22 people at Catch in the Meatpacking District. I’m usually the person on my team to plan the big dinners, so I was quite excited to actually attend. We had the Chef’s Table right next to the kitchen, which ended up being the perfect area. Below is the photo I took before everyone else arrived. Before dinner we all gathered around the bar for pre-dinner cocktails and it was nice to finally meet my contacts in person.

 Image

 

As soon as we sat down Top Chef Hung came over to say a few words and sign cookbooks for all the guests. Unfortunately, he had to run to another event downtown that night but he turned out to be a really nice guy.

Image

I picked out the menu beforehand, but the chef started us off with a freebie ahi tuna bite. The picture doesn’t do it justice- it was such a beautiful presentation. The tuna was served with a dollop of guacamole and a sliced radish.

Image

The rest of the appetizers followed shortly and included hamachi tartare, the Catch roll, and sake chicken lettuce cups. I only managed to grab a picture of the hamachi, which came served with pear, avocado, and potato chips. The Catch roll contained crab, salmon, and miso-honey. Oh my goodness, I love miso honey! Lastly, the chicken lettuce cups consisted of marinated chicken, hoisin, cucumber, and crispy sweet potato shreds. All of the apps were a big hit.

Image

Everyone had a choice between three different entrees; Seared snapper with lobster mash, filet mignon, or a vegetarian mushroom spaghetti. I chose the snapper, but asked for the sauces on the side. The dark sauce was made of truffles while the yellow sauce was a browned butter. The fish was cooked perfectly and the lobster mash actually had chunks of lobsters in it! Yum! I also used the truffle sauce quite a bit- trying to pretend I’m one of the rich inhabitants of NYC who lives in a penthouse and has an entire staff to clean everything. I can dream, right?

Image

Next up; one of my favorite courses, dessert! We were all served two desserts for the table to share- multiple plates of each dessert of course. First pictures is the banana bruleed split. The banana halves were caramelized and served with three types of ice cream; cinnamon milk chocolate, cookies ‘n cream, and cherry frozen yogurt. I think my favorite ice cream was the cinnamon milk chocolate.

 

 

 

Image

 

Next up is the chocolate sphere. The sphere was a chocolate mousse covered in chocolate and served atop devils food cake. On the side was a dollop of salted caramel ice cream and a truffle. I could not stop eating- everything was so tasty. Of course, I highly recommend the restaurant and had a great time meeting a bunch of new faces. I know it’s pretty obvious, but I love my job! I got quite lucky!

 

 

 

 

Image

Leave a Reply

