Running Forward

Home for the Turkey

on November 28, 2013

Being home in Georgia for the week has been so nice. I’ve been able to relax, catch up with my family, and cook a good bit. No pictures, though, so you’ll have to use your imagination to picture how good everything was. 

Monday: Shrimp and Veggie Stir Fry for my family’s dinner

               Farro Autumn Salad for my mom’s potluck at work (recipe below)

               Pumpkin Spice Rice Krispie Treats

Tuesday: Chicken thigh dish for dinner

               Banana Bread

Wednesday: Tilapia for dinner

               Apple Crisp for Thanksgiving dinner

 

For the farro salad I wanted to bring something I had never made before to my mom’s potluck at work. Originally, I planned on doing a quinoa salad, but Kroger had a pitiful quinoa selection, so I went to Whole Foods and found the farro in the bulk bins instead. The salad was a big hit and is a good choice if you’re looking for a filling yet light dish. 

2 cups Farro

2 apples (I used golden delicious)

dried cranberries

sliced almonds (toasted in the oven until just before turning golden brown)

a few handfuls of arugula

crumbled feta

Plain nonfat Greek yogurt

Orange blossom balsamic vinegar

maple syrup

salt

Start by cooking the farro until al dente. Drain and set aside until cooled. In the meantime, chop up the apples and saute with cinnamon until cooked through. Once ready, add the apples, cranberries, and feta to the salad. If serving right away, go ahead and add the toasted almonds and arugula. For the dressing I combined the yogurt, vinegar, a drizzle of maple syrup, and a pinch of salt. I tossed the dressing into the salad and add a bit more right before serving. Feel free to adjust the amount of vinegar and yogurt according to your preferences. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

