Running Forward

From Ice to Snow

on December 14, 2013

What another amazing week! I’ve been on overdrive because of all the work events this month coupled with other fun Christmas things around the city. Not to mention I completely suck at Christmas shopping. Absolutely hopeless. Complete lost cause. So, anyway, we got a bit of a snowstorm at the beginning of the week, which thrilled me. I’m still not used to actually seeing snow, especially around Christmas. 

On Wednesday we had our company holiday party, which turned out to be a blast! Part one consisted of lunch inside the Cellar Bar at the Bryant Park Hotel accompanied by a photobooth, caricature artist, and raffles. I felt like I was hanging out inside a castle. 

Image

ImageImageImageImage

Part two brought us to Minus 5 Ice Bar. Definitely the highlight of the day! People let loose and weren’t shy about their dance moves or ridiculous winter coats and hats. I even danced with all the execs and took pics showing off our faux fur. 

ImageImageImageImage

On Friday Sam gave me last minute tickets to the Jingle Ball! I honestly didn’t know what to expect since I’ve never attended such a big concert featuring so many artists. I took Kaitlyn with me and we had a blast dancing and laughing about how old we felt. Honestly, it was one of the first moments I felt like an oldie because I had no idea who a few of the up-and-coming teen boppers were. But as soon as Fall Out Boy played some of their old hits Kaitlyn and I jumped out of our seats to dance only to find that we were literally the only ones who knew the songs. Ha! The lineup included the following people: 

Jason Derulo

Fifth Harmony (one of the groups we didn’t know- too old)

Selena Gomez

Fall Out Boy

Austin Mahone (another guy we’re too old for)

Ariana Grande (didn’t know her, but, darn, she can sing!)

R. Kelly (a surprise performance!)

Pitbull (highlight of the concert!)

Robin Thicke

Enrique Iglesias

Paramore

Macklemore and Ryan Lewis

Miley Cyrus

Image

Image

In addition to all the fun music I was thrilled that Sam and my cousin Alexis both got to sneak out from backstage to say hey. And I’m proud to say that I stayed up until 1:30 am- a big accomplishment for me (and another reason I’m old). Luckily today was a cozy snow day, so I just did my grocery shopping, ran some errands, and had a good work out at the gym. Looking forward to another day with snow tomorrow. Gotta love it! 

 

Leave a Reply

