Running Forward

First week back….not really

on January 5, 2014

I had a wonderful Christmas week at home in Georgia with my parents, brother, and BOTH grandmas. Everyday was jam-packed and much busier than I expected, but I love being busy and running around town. I flew back to Hoboken the Sunday after Christmas and was mentally prepared for a crazy week at work. Well, it was crazy but not in the way I expected. I worked a full day Monday, half day Tuesday (only one other person was in the office with me), no work Wednesday, full day Thursday, then snow day Friday. So, I was basically only in the office for 2.5 days. So odd. The highlight of the week, of course, was New Years Eve on Tuesday! My date and I decided to stay in, cook an amazing dinner, and watch the fun TV specials while waiting for the Times Square ball to drop. Here is the amazing menu we put together:

  • Salmon
  • my new favorite salad (arugula, fresh beets, goat cheese, toasted walnuts, craisins, balsamic vinegar)
  • Roasted butternut squash with cinnamon
  • Stuffed mushrooms

Everything was delicious and we had a great time watching Kathy Griffin handcuff Anderson Cooper- so awkward. Even though I don’t really have any specific resolutions, I have some great goals and some big news coming soon! I have a feeling 2014 is going to be one of the best years yet. 

Another highlight of the week- Thursday night’s blizzard! I LOVE the snow and am really loving winter so far (we’ll see how long that lasts), so this blizzard was a blast. I woke up Friday morning to 10 inches of snow and ventured out at 6:15 am for a trip to the gym. I felt like such a warrior trudging three blocks through the snow before the sun was even up. Since I had to be on my laptop for most of the day I wanted to get my workout out of the way early. Luckily, Sam met up with me in the afternoon and helped my cabin fever symptoms subside. Here’s the snowman he made for me:

Image

ImageImageImage

Now I’m truly ready for a full work week. No more cabin fever for a while I hope. 

Leave a Reply

