Running Forward

Hot Banana Bread for a Not-So-Hot Day

on January 21, 2015

Even though it’s a short week due to a holiday on Monday it’s been quite the roller coaster so far. Today was crazy at work and now (dare I say it) I think I may be getting sick. And if you know me, you know that I DON’T get sick. Ever.

So, when I came home from work hungry I happily made my way to the banana bread I baked over the weekend. Even though it’s the last little nubbin of bread left it still made my day that much brighter. It had been a while since I baked a normal loaf of banana bread (as opposed to a healthier, lighter version), so I found a recipe online and tweaked it according to the ingredients I had on-hand. You see, my Friday plans were canceled so my baking venture was a spontaneous decision. Shout out to Krysten for letting me borrow two eggs!

By midnight Friday I had one large loaf and two mini loaves fresh out of the oven. By Monday the biggest loaf was devoured and my roommates begged me to make more. In case you find yourself home alone this Friday and get tired of your Netflix binge, break out your apron and throw together a loaf of this bread. Your roommates will love you for it.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup oil

2 eggs

3 ripe bananas

1/2 cup milk (I used almond milk)

A few drops of vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

sprinkle of cinnamon

Chocolate chips (no measurement here!)

Start by preheating your oven to 350. Next whip together your sugar and oil, incorporating the eggs once the sugar and oil are mixed. Next add your bananas (you can pre-mash them or try to use fewer dishes like me and mash them in the batter bowl). Stir in the milk and vanilla extract until all the wet ingredients are well incorporated. Add your first cup of flour along with the baking soda and salt. Once mixed well, add the remaining flour. Lastly, time for the chocolate chips. Frankly, go as crazy as you want. I mean, too much chocolate is definitely never a problem.

Pour your batter into a greased loaf pan and bake for 45 minutes adding additional time if necessary. If you’re a smart cookie like me, you’ll risk burned fingers to try a slice right out of the oven. I’d say it’s worth it, but it’s always delicious the next day too. Good luck making it last though!

Leave a Reply

