Running Forward

Football Food

on February 6, 2015

I should start by letting you know that this post isn’t nearly as meaningful as the last one, but, hey, football food is tasty. Before I give you my chili and cheese dip recipe, though, thank you to those who reached out after my last post. It means a lot. 🙂

Now onto the football food! My parents host a little Super Bowl party every year and it’s always one of my favorite events. In fact, I consider the Super Bowl a holiday. I worked all weekend last year and was happy just to watch the game at a bar in Manhattan, but this year I was ready for a party. Luckily, my roommates agreed and made it happen. Here’s a list of our menu:

  • turkey chili
  • cheese dip
  • pizza
  • chips & salsa
  • veggies & hummus
  • rice krispie treats
  • banana bread
  • beer

I was in charge of the chili, cheese dip, rice krispie treats, and banana bread. Since rice krispie treats are simple and I posted the banana bread recipe a few weeks ago, I’ll share the chili and cheese dip recipes. Confession: I have a problem following recipes, so these are an estimation of what I did. Use your judgement and taste as you go!

Turkey Chili

1 pound ground turkey (I went with the 99% lean)

1 can petite diced tomatoes

1 can kidney beans, rinsed

1 small can tomato sauce

1/2 onion, chopped

1 tablespoon minced garlic

chili powder

cumin powder

hot sauce

salt

Start by sautéing the onion in a pot with a little bit of olive oil. Once they’re translucent add the ground turkey and minced garlic. Keep stirring and mixing the meat so that the onions and garlic get mixed throughout and the turkey breaks into small pieces. Once the meat is cooked through, let the pot cool of a few minutes and drain the grease. Side note: please don’t pour the grease down your sink- bad things happen when you do that. Moving right along…

Add the diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, kidney beans, and start adding some of your spices. Since I don’t measure, be sure to add a good bit of cumin and chili powder, taste, then adjust as needed. Then repeat with the salt and hot sauce. Let the mixture simmer until it thickens and enjoy! We served it with some tortilla chips and cheese dip.

Homemade cheese dip (way better than the stuff from a jar!) coming next time, so stay tuned.

2.1.15

Leave a Reply

