Running Forward

Jiggy With It

on February 21, 2015

Today is my roommate Jillian’s birthday. She’s responsible for picking me from Craigslist and is easily one of the funniest, genuinely nicest girls I know. The big celebration is tomorrow, but I got a jump start by baking her requested cake (vanilla with lots of vanilla frosting). I gathered all my ingredients Thursday night after work and put it together in no time. Boxed cakes just can’t measure up to a homemade one. So, please ditch the box, put on your apron, and make a cake from scratch. It’s super simple and so worth it.

Of course I’ve made plenty of cakes in the past, but this was my first time making true buttercream frosting to cover it. I had to get over my butter phobia for this one! After beating the ingredients for a few minutes I found my frosting to be really thick and dense. I decided to just keep beating it in an attempt to make it fluffier and it worked. I ended up with plenty of icing and definitely licked the bowl afterwards. You just have to be patient. I mean, it’s butter and sugar- it’s going to taste great no matter what.

This cake itself turned out perfectly light and reminded me of a pound cake. So, if you’re in the market for a cake recipe I would definitely recommend this one. Enjoy!

Vanilla Cake

1 stick unsalted butter (room temperature)

2 cups granulated sugar

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 3/4 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

5 eggs

1 tbsp vanilla extract

1 cup milk

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Beat together the butter, sugar, and oil on medium speed with an electric mixer until well incorporated and fluffy. In a separate bowl mix together your flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

Go back to your wet mixture and gradually beat in the 5 eggs and vanilla extract. Next add 1/3 of the dry mixture to the wet mixture and mix until incorporated. Add half the milk, then continue alternating until everything is mixed together. Grease and flour two pans, then pour the mixture accordingly. Bake for 35-45 minutes. Allow the cakes to cool completely before frosting.

Vanilla Frosting

3 cups confectioners’ sugar

2 sticks butter (room temperature)

2 tbsp milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

Use an electric mixer to beat together the butter and sugar until well blended. Add the vanilla and milk then continue beating on a high speed until it’s fluffy and increased in volume. Simply spread in between your two cake layers once the cake has cooled. And cover the cake in frosting as desired.

Much to my delight, the birthday girl was ready to dig in as soon as she got home from dinner with her boyfriend. We let him do the honor of cutting everyone a piece, which somehow left the cake looking like a tetris game (few too many drinks at dinner???). We all had multiple pieces and snacked on it again the next morning. Eat up!

2.19.15

Leave a Reply

